My Journey

Popular

Gorgeous!

Girls' Globe

Post Written by: Meena Bhati, Field Communications Manager, Educate Girls 

My name is Meena Bhati.

I am recognized as Educate Girls’ oldest employee.

I was born into a Rajput family living in the Chanud Village of Pali district in Rajasthan, India. The Rajput community does not believe in educating a girl child. Many families there do not even wish to bring a girl into this world because she is seen as a liability. I was lucky that my parents sent me to school, but only until class 10. I pleaded to be allowed to continue my education but I was told to pay attention to household chores and prepare myself for marriage instead.

I stayed home looking after the house and my siblings, and eventually I was married.

Luckily, life had another chance waiting for me in the form of my husband. He was a teacher himself, and therefore understood…

View original post 535 more words

Leave a Reply

